Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1983 Corolla Wagon w/ 4AGE swap - New to older toyotas - fuel pump?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1983 Corolla Wagon w/ 4AGE swap - New to older toyotas - fuel pump?

Hi there!

I'm new to the old toyota world, as I just acquired a 1983 corolla with a bluetop 4AGE swapped into it. My aim is to make it daily-able, which isn't too horribly far off. I enjoy forums because you find a lot of information from people who've been there, but they're useful tools to learn how to more effectively communicate when it comes to these things. The more you know, I suppose.

Anywhoo, the person I bought it from did the swap. The person who owned it *before* him did the external fuel pump job on it for some reason. So the pumps been there since before the swap.

It's a Bosch 0580254982, which as it turns out is from a '77 BMW.

I had a video of the noise, but now I can't find it and the car's fuel lines are plucked right now. This video that I found, though, perfectly demonstrates the noise it makes, except it is much louder.. (although it is not me)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwIV...deringdendrite

The noise happens constantly as the car runs, no changes in pitch or anything. Every once in a while when I start it, it will sounds perfectly normal for maybe one or two seconds before starting in on the noise. The fuel pump that came in the 1986 GTS (the motor donor) was rated at 3 bar, the one that on this car currently is rated for 5. However there are zero fuel delivery issues. Idles fine for the most part, drives perfect, drove it 40 miles a day for a week and a half with no issues to speak of.

I just know that I can't trust it. At least for long. I'm mechanically inclined enough to replace *most* things on the car myself so long as they don't require extensive machining.